Posts Tagged ‘The Middle East’

It seems like an eternity between drinks for fans of The Middle East. Three years ago their last EP was released and it was received with such warmth that waiting so long to release their follow-up LP would inevitably be accompanied by a substantial rise in expectations; almost to that of an unattainable level.

Fortunately, ‘unattainable’ doesn’t seem to feature in The Muddle East’s vocabulary as “I want that you are always happy” is a fantastic balance of the band’s classic indie-rock and soft-folk sounds. A few fans expecting thirteen new renditions of Blood might be feeling a little harder done-by from the band’s pursuit of the folk-ier experience but “I want that…” Is sure to win many an admirer with this pursuit.

Opening track Black Death 1349, released prior to the album as one of the singles, is the introduction that every indie-folk soundtrack should strive to produce. The way the vocals are softly howled over the plucking of strings serves as a portal to The Middle East’s oxymoronic world of melancholic happiness. This slow, almost monotonous and hypnotizing rhythm and sound continues seamlessly from the opener into My Grandmother was Pearl Hall and As I Go to See Janey.

The album is very unique in it’s ability to contradict itself with dark and despairing album artwork and tracks Ninth Avenue Reverie and Vert Many to the uplifting and joyous moments we experience on first single Jesus Came to my Birthday party and standout track Land of the Bloody Unknown. Aside from being one of the most appropriately and brilliantly titled tracks ever, Land of the… is a gorgeous ode to everything that is Australia. The sound, the lyrics and the vocal accent all cry Australia; as the LP drives you out of the darkness.

Be warned though, it is a tumultuous journey back down into these darkened depths with the album’s other standout Mount Morgan. The gentle beginning innocently matures into a long deep sigh, groaning for your approval and catching your breath before allowing you to release your tension with follow-up tracks Months, Dan’s Silverleaf and Hunger Song.

Deep Water closes the album with the same damp earnestness it began with, leaving my only criticism to be that I don’t possess the eloquence required to express this album as beautifully as it deserves. Trying to communicate artistry of such beauty with sheer words is utterly unjust, as The Middle East have created a divine album that can only be experienced.


Read Full Post »

I’m guessing it was around 11:39 pm when I received a surprising yet random yet ‘fuck i don’t know the word I’m trying to use’ phone call from my old friend S.Day. I was quite excited to say the least. He picked me up (gentleman) and we went down to The Bakery on O’connell so he could write his review on The Middle East’s latest release  and I could sit and give him inspiration, just like I made him realise how beautiful the word ‘fiance’ is.

But let’s rewind a little, before we actually got to the bakery, Steve was telling me about how close he got to J.Mauboy tonight at the Chris Brown concert (yep he went) and boom what a coincidence, there she was on the radio with her smash-hit  ‘forget about us’. We then drove around North Adelaide until the song was finished and discussed that Jessica was a talented  and ‘cute’ performer.

Steve got his sausage roll (yuck) and vanilla milkshake with extra thickness while I sat and wrote this. It is now 1:41am and overall it has been wonderful catching up with my old pal 🙂

Until next time…


Read Full Post »

The Middle East Album Deets The Middle East have announced that their debut/sophomore album ‘I Want That You Are Always Happy’ will be released on the 8th of April. We also have the very awesome artwork (see above) and the tracklist:

1. Black Death 1349

2. My Grandma Was Pearl Hall

3. As I Go To See Janey

4. Jesus Came To My Birthday Party

5. Land of The Bloody Unknown

6. Very Many

7. Sydney To Newcastle

8. Mount Morgan

9. Months

10. Dan’s Silverleaf

11. Hunger Song

12. Ninth Ave Reverie

13. Deep Water
                                                                                                                                                                         … Read More

via And Pluck Your Strings

Read Full Post »

Black Death 1349

The Middle East have already found a niche in all our hearts with their gorgeous sounds and will continue this amazing journey by releasing their long awaited debut album on April 8th. Titled I want that you are very happy, it is very exciting news for the Townsville locals who produce some of the most beautiful music our country has heard in a long time.

Keep an eye out for more info and release news as that date gets closer and for now, enjoy their new single Black Death 1349.

The Middle East – Black Death 1349

Read Full Post »